Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

October 03, 2017

Kangaroos squad for RLWC 2017

The Australian Rugby League Commission has today selected the following players to represent the Kangaroos in the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

Seven members of the Premiership-winning Melbourne Storm outfit have been selected in the Kangaroos squad, which will open its World Cup campaign against England on October 27.

The 24-man squad also includes six debutants; Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights), Wade Graham (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Felise Kaufusi, Jordan McLean, Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm) and Tom Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles).

“This squad has the right mix of youth and experience, as well as an overall balance across the positions for a World Cup campaign,” Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga said.“It was selected based on form, performances in the State of Origin series as well as previously in the green and gold jersey.“We have a number of players who can play multiple positions and that will be an advantage over the course of what we hope will be six matches.”Fourteen players from the inaugural Kangaroos Origin Merit Team have been selected in the World Cup Squad.

Premiership-winning skipper Cameron Smith will captain the squad, while Sydney Roosters’ Boyd Cordner has been endorsed as Vice-Captain by Australian Rugby League Commission Chairman John Grant.

The full Kangaroos World Cup squad will travel to Fiji for an exhibition match against both Fiji and PNG on October 14.

The squad, listed alphabetically, is as follows:

PlayerNRL ClubJunior Club
Darius BoydBrisbane BroncosMudgeeraba Redbacks
Will ChambersMelbourne StormNhulunbuy, NT
Boyd Cordner (vc)Sydney RoostersOld Bar Pirates
Cooper CronkMelbourne StormSouths Acacia
Josh DuganSt George Illawarra DragonsSouth Tuggeranong Knights/Valley Dragons
Andrew FifitaCronulla-Sutherland SharksGriffith Waratah/St Patricks Blacktown
Tyson FrizellSt George Illawarra DragonsCorrimal Cougars
Dane GagaiNewcastle KnightsSouths Sharks
Matt GillettBrisbane BroncosBribie Island Warrigals
Wade GrahamCronulla-Sutherland SharksBlacktown City
Valentine HolmesCronulla-Sutherland SharksWestern Lions/Townsville
Ben HuntBrisbane BroncosBlackwater Crushers
Felise KaufusiMelbourne StormBundaberg Brothers
David KlemmerCanterbury-Bankstown BulldogsAll Saints Toongabbie
Josh McGuireBrisbane BroncosAspley
James MaloneyCronulla-Sutherland SharksSt Edwards, Gosford
Jordan McLeanMelbourne StormYoung Cherrypickers
Michael MorganNorth Queensland CowboysTownsville Brothers
Cameron MunsterMelbourne StormNorths Knights
Billy SlaterMelbourne StormInnisfail
Cameron Smith (c)Melbourne StormLogan Brothers
Jake TrbojevicManly Warringah Sea EaglesMona Vale Raiders
Tom TrbojevicManly Warringah Sea EaglesMona Vale Raiders
Aaron WoodsWests TigersLeichhardt Juniors
Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners