Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

October 03, 2017

Tagataese awarded Ken Stephen Medal

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks forward Sam Tagataese was award the Ken Stephen Medal on Sunday for his enormous contribution to the community in 2017.

The honour was announced at the 2017 NRL Community Awards leading into the NRL Telstra Premiership Grand Final, with a number of other awards also presented that acknowledge some of the game’s many unassuming heroes and their tireless community support.

NRL Chief Executive Todd Greenberg said Tagataese was deserving winner of the Ken Stephen Medal.

“Sam has taken it upon himself to get out into his local community on his days off from training and provide food and a comforting word to those less fortunate and doing it tough,” Mr Greenberg said.

“I congratulate Sam and all of our Ken Stephen Medal nominees, together with all the 2017 Community Award nominees, on their outstanding achievements and the commitment and sacrifices they have made.”

2017 NRL Community Award winners (including Ken Stephen Medallist):

  • Grassroots Club of the Year Presented by Telstra is Murgon Junior Rugby League Football Club
  • Volunteer of the Year is Darren Deitz
  • Women in League Achievement Award Presented by Harvey Norman is Jacqueline Jones
  • Teacher of the Year Presented by ACCOR Hotels is Travis McIntosh
  • Young Person of the Year is Courtney Baxter
  • NRL Club Community Program of the Year is ‘Be All In’, Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
  • Ken Stephen Medal Presented by Telstra is Sam Tagataese, Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners