Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

September 28, 2016

Taumalolo and Cronk share Dally M honours

RLPA Players’ Champion, Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys), has received another 2016 accolade this time alongside Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm) with the pair named joint winners of the Dally M medal.

Just days out from an appearance in the 2016 Telstra Premiership Grand Final, Cronk was awarded his second Dally M medal, following his solo win in 2013, while Taumalolo, who earlier this month was voted by his NRL peers as the 2016 Players’ Champion, won his first Dally M medal.

Melbourne Storm and Canberra Raiders, who played off in a Preliminary Final on Saturday night, shared a significant amount of the honours on the night.

For the Storm, Cronk was named halfback of the year, Cameron Smith was awarded hooker of the year honours, and Jesse Bromwich was named prop of the year, while Smith also picked up the Representative Player of the Year award. 

Canberra’s Jarrod Croker picked up three awards, including Captain of the Year and the Provan Summons People’s Choice.

Meanwhile the Raiders’ Ricky Stuart was named Coach of the Year, and Joseph Leilua was awarded Centre of the Year honours.

St George Illawarra’s Joel Thompson was awarded the Ken Stephen Medal for his commitment to making a difference in his community.

Kezie Apps continued a landmark year for the NSW women’s side by being named the Female Player of the Year. 

Dally M Winners

  • Dally M Player of the Year: Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm) and Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)
  • Captain of the Year: Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders)
  • Coach of the Year: Ricky Stuart (Canberra Raiders)
  • Peter Moore Award for Rookie of the Year: Ashley Taylor (Gold Coast Titans)
  • Representative Player of the Year: Cameron Smith (Queensland/Storm)
  • Fullback of the Year: James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)
  • Winger of the Year: Josh Mansour (Penrith Panthers)
  • Centre of the Year: Joseph Leilua (Canberra Raiders)
  • Five-eighth of the Year: James Maloney (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
  • Halfback of the Year: Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)
  • Lock of the Year: Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)
  • Second-rower of the Year: Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Prop of the Year: Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm)
  • Hooker of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
  • Top Points Scorer: Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders) 
  • Top Try Scorer: Suliasi Vunivalu (Melbourne Storm)
  • Provan Summons People’s Choice Medal: Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders)
  • Holden Cup Player of the Year: Jayden Brailey (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
  • Female Player of the Year: Kezie Apps
  • Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Anthony Milford (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Ken Stephen Medal: Joel Thompson (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Photo: The 2016 Dally M Team of the Year (Grant Trouville)

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners