Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

September 25, 2016

More added to Kangaroos train-on squad

Canberra Raiders players Shannon Boyd and Joseph Leilua are among ten players added to the Kangaroos Train-On Squad ahead of the October 15 Test against New Zealand in Perth and the Four Nations in the UK.

Boyd and Leilua join Cowboys co-captains Johnathan Thurston and Matt Scott, as well as Michael Morgan and Justin O’Neill, in the train-on squad.

Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga said he was pleased with the potential for the Four Nations squad based on the Prime Minister’s XIII’s 58-0 victory over the Papua New Guinea Prime Minister’s XIII in Port Moresby last Saturday.

“The squad is taking shape very well,” Meninga said.

“I was really pleased with the performance of a number of players in Port Moresby and it enhanced my thoughts on a number of players.

“To add these experienced players, as well as a handful of younger guys, to the train-on squad puts us in a very strong position.”

Players selected in the Prime Minister’s XIII will gain automatic consideration for the Kangaroos train-on squad.  

The complete train-on squad is:

  • Darius Boyd (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Shannon Boyd (Canberra Raiders)
  • Bryce Cartwright (Penrith Panthers)
  • Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters)
  • Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders)
  • Josh Dugan (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters)
  • Jake Friend (Sydney Roosters)
  • Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  • Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Ben Hunt (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
  • Josh Jackson (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
  • Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)
  • Joseph Leilua (Canberra Raiders)
  • David Klemmer (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
  • Josh Mansour (Penrith Panthers)
  • Moses Mbye (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
  • Josh McGuire (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Trent Merrin (Penrith Panthers)
  • Anthony Milford (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Michael Morgan (North Queensland Cowboys)
  • Mitchell Moses (Wests Tigers)
  • Matt Moylan (Penrith Panthers)
  • Dylan Napa (Sydney Roosters)
  • Corey Oates (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Justin O’Neill (North Queensland Cowboys)
  • Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)
  • Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Junior Paulo (Canberra Raiders)
  • Mitchell Pearce (Sydney Roosters)
  • Semi Radradra (Parramatta Eels)
  • Matt Scott (North Queensland Cowboys)
  • James Tamou (North Queensland Cowboys)
  • James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)
  • Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)
  • Jake Trbojevic (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)
  • Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)

The Kangaroos squad will be announced in early October. 

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners