Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

October 07, 2020

List of Contenders: The Players’ Champion 2020

The RLPA has today revealed the List of Contenders for The Players’ Champion 2020 – outlining the four players from each team who are eligible for the prestigious award and the Players’ 13 Dream Team.

The RLPA has partnered with Nine this year, with winners of both the NRL and NRLW award to be announced live on Grand Final day (October 25).

Past recipients James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters), Jason Taumalolo (Cowboys) and Kalyn Ponga (Knights) feature on the star-studded shortlist.

The List of Contenders is made up of four players from each club that are nominated to be eligible for The Players’ Champion (NRL) and Players’ 13 Dream Team voting.

RLPA Delegates and Player Leaders at each Club put forward the three best players from their own team. An RLPA Working Group nominates a fourth player to round out the nomination process.

In total, 64 players (four from each team) are eligible to receive votes in the end of season poll.

Five Finalists for The Players’ Champion (NRL) will be announced on October 15.


Warriors: Karl Lawton, Tohu Harris, Peta Hiku and Roger Tuivasa-Sheck

Titans: AJ Brimson, Jamal Fogarty, Moe Fotuaika and Brian Kelly

Wests Tigers: Harry Grant, Luciano Leilua, Benji Marshall and David Nofoaluma

Storm: Jahrome Hughes, Cameron Munster, Ryan Papenhuyzen and Cameron Smith

Sharks: Shaun Johnson, Sione Katoa, Toby Rudolf and Siosifa Talakai

Sea Eagles: Daly Cherry-Evans, Addin Fonua-Blake, Curtis Sironen and Jake Trbojevic

Roosters: Luke Keary, Brett Morris, Sio Siua Taukeiaho and James Tedesco

Raiders: Josh Papalii, Elliott Whitehead, George Williams and Jack Wighton

Rabbitohs: Tom Burgess, Dane Gagai, Campbell Graham and Jaydn Su’A

Panthers: Nathan Cleary, Stephen Crichton, Api Koroisau and Viliame Kikau

Knights: David Klemmer, Kurt Mann, Kalyn Ponga and Jacob Saifiti

Eels: Reagan Campbell-Gillard, Clinton Gutherson, Junior Paulo and Maika Sivo

Dragons: Euan Aitken, Matt Dufty, Zac Lomax and Cam McInnes

Cowboys: Kyle Feldt, Josh McGuire, Reece Robson and Jason Taumalolo

Bulldogs: Raymond Faitala-Mariner, Kieran Foran, Will Hopoate and Josh Jackson

Broncos: Pat Carrigan, Herbie Farnworth, Payne Haas and Kotoni Staggs


Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners