Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

November 06, 2020

Finalists announced for the 2020 Dennis Tutty Award

The Rugby League Players’ Association (RLPA) has today announced five finalists for the prestigious Dennis Tutty Award for 2020.

Given the unprecedented events of 2020, the RLPA has elected to nominate finalists for the first time in the award’s history to ensure more than one player is recognised for their efforts in the player advocacy space.

Darius Boyd, Wade Graham, Blake Green, Sia Soliola and Roger Tuivasa-Sheck are in contention for the honour – with the winner to be announced next week.

All five players have demonstrated outstanding commitment to their fellow players, working through a plethora of challenges on behalf of their fellow players as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Dennis Tutty Award recognises a player who has demonstrated:

  • Leadership on and off the field;
  • Commitment to his fellow Players and to the advancement and protection of their rights; and
  • Service and dedication to the game of Rugby League

RLPA Player Operations Manager Tom Symonds, a recipient of the Dennis Tutty Award in 2015, said any player from the group of finalists would be a deserving winner.

“The award represents the whole playing group rallying behind each other and making sacrifices for the good of the entire group and not just one individual,” Symonds said.

“This group is made up of five high profile players who are really passionate about the RLPA and the player space.

“They are also guys who have managed to find the balance between working out what is fair and reasonable for players but then also allowing the game to continue in what has been a pretty crazy year.

“These players have been able to work through those challenges and find a happy medium, which has been so important.

“We are thankful for the efforts of Darius, Wade, Blake, Sia and Roger this season and congratulate them on their nomination for the 2020 Dennis Tutty Award.”

The winner of the Dennis Tutty Award is selected by the RLPA Board of Directors.

If you would like to know more about Dennis Tutty and his importance to the RLPA, click here.

Dennis Tutty Award – Past Winners

2019 David Gower

2018 Jason Nightingale

2017 James Maloney

2016 Dene Halatau

2015 Tom Symonds

2014 Nate Myles

2013 Clint Newton

2012 Robbie Farah

2011 Andrew Ryan

2010 Petero Civoniceva

2009 Michael Gordon

2008 Jason King

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners