Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

November 13, 2020

Green recognised as 2020 Dennis Tutty Award winner

Blake Green has been recognised for demonstrating outstanding leadership and commitment to his fellow players, with the former Warriors playmaker today announced as the recipient of this year’s Dennis Tutty Award.

The award is presented annually by the Rugby League Players’ Association (RLPA) in honour of Tutty, a former Test second-rower who sacrificed some of the best years of his career when he challenged the NSWRL’s transfer system in 1968.

Green, who joined the Newcastle Knights in Round 13, played a key role for the Warriors earlier in the season as one of their senior leaders, navigating through an array of unique challenges for the club as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The veteran playmaker was integral in negotiating the revised terms and conditions for his teammates, whilst also contributing immensely to the collective through his involvement with the Player Advisory Group.

Green was awarded the honour by the RLPA Board ahead of fellow finalists in former teammate Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Broncos fullback Darius Boyd, Raiders enforcer Sia Soliola and Sharks skipper Wade Graham.

RLPA Player Operations Manager Tom Symonds, a recipient of the Dennis Tutty Award in 2015, commended Green for his efforts and commitment to the RLPA in a challenging season.

“There has been any number of guys that could have won the award this year,” Symonds said.

“We have had so many players stand up and contribute, offering up countless hours for the betterment of their fellow players.

“The RLPA Board has chosen Blake as this year’s winner with his outstanding commitment and the quality contribution he has made to the RLPA and the game.

“The amount of time, effort and energy that went into balancing what was a pretty hectic situation for the Warriors has been nothing but first class.

“I’m really happy for Blake receiving this award and I would like to not only congratulate him, but also recognise the other four finalists who have all been incredible this year.”

Green joins an illustrious list of past winners including James Maloney, Dene Halatau, Clint Newton, Robbie Farah and Petero Civoniceva.

Award Criteria

The Dennis Tutty Award recognises a player who has demonstrated:

  • Leadership on and off the field;
  • Commitment to his fellow Players and to the advancement and protection of their rights; and
  • Service and dedication to the game of Rugby League

Dennis Tutty Award – Honour Roll

2020 Blake Green

2019 David Gower

2018 Jason Nightingale

2017 James Maloney

2016 Dene Halatau

2015 Tom Symonds

2014 Nate Myles

2013 Clint Newton

2012 Robbie Farah

2011 Andrew Ryan

2010 Petero Civoniceva

2009 Michael Gordon

2008 Jason King

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners