General News Players

Thurston joins 300 Club

North Queensland Cowboys co-captain Johnathan Thurston will start the 2018 season by reaching his 300th NRL match tonight against the Sharks at 1300SMILES Stadium.

Thurston will become the 30th player to join the illustrious ‘300 Club’ – which includes current players Cameron Smith, Cooper Cronk, Chris Heighington, Luke Lewis, Ryan Hoffman and Paul Gallen.

The Souths Sunnybank junior made his NRL debut for the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs in Round 13 of the 2002 season, playing a total of 29 games for the Club – with his final appearance being the 2004 premiership victory.

Thurston joined the Cowboys in 2005 – leading North Queensland to their first-ever Grand Final that season, before eventually taking the Townsville-based side to their maiden premiership victory in 2015.

The four-time Players’ Champion and Dally M Medal winner has played 270 NRL games for the Cowboys and will tonight surpass Matt Bowen as the most-capped player in the Club’s history.

Thurston’s impressive career also includes an array of representative games, with 37 matches for Queensland, 38 Tests for Australia, six Indigenous All Stars caps and two Prime Minister’s XIII appearances.

The Rugby League Players’ Association would like to congratulate Thurston on joining the ‘300 Club’ and on his numerous accomplishments within those games.


Appearances Player Club/s Years
358 Cameron Smith Melbourne 2002-2018
355 Darren Lockyer Brisbane 1995-2001
350 Terry Lamb Wests, Canterbury 1980-1996
349 Steve Menzies Manly, Northern Eagles 1993-2008
347 Corey Parker Brisbane 2001-2016
336 Brad Fittler Penrith, Sydney Roosters 1989-2004
332 Cliff Lyons Norths, Manly 1985-1999
330 Nathan Hindmarsh Parramatta 1998-2012
328 Andrew Ettingshausen Cronulla 1983-2000
325 Geoff Gerard Parramatta, Manly, Penrith 1974-1989
323 Cooper Cronk Melbourne, Sydney Roosters 2004-2018
318 Jason Croker Canberra 1991-2006
317 Hazem El Masri Bulldogs 1996-2009
317 Chris Heighington Wests Tigers, Cronulla, Newcastle 2003-2018
315 Paul Langmack Canterbury, Wests, Easts 1983-1999
315 Luke Priddis C’berra, B’bane, P’rith, St Geo Il 1997-2010
313 Steve Price Bulldogs, Warriors 1994-2009
313 Brent Kite St Geo Ill, Manly, Penrith 2002-2015
312 Ruben Wiki Canberra, Warriors 1993-2008
309 Petero Civoniceva Brisbane, Penrith 1998-2012
307 Brett Kimmorley N’stle, H’ter, Melb, N Eag, C’nulla, C’bury 1995-2010
307 Luke Lewis Penrith, Cronulla 2001-2018
305 Ryan Hoffman Melbourne, Warriors 2003-2018
304 Paul Gallen Cronulla Sharks 2001-2018
303 Anthony Watmough Northern Eagles, Manly, Parramatta 2002-2015
302 Anthony Minichiello Sydney Roosters 2000-2014
301 Luke Ricketson Sydney Roosters 1991-2005
300 Scott Prince N’th Qld, B’bane, Wests Tig, Gold C’st 1998-2013
300 John Morris N’tle, P’matta, Wests Tigers, Cronulla 2001-2014