Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

October 03, 2021

Trbojevic crowned Players’ Champion by his NRL peers

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles fullback Tom Trbojevic has been voted the best NRL player in 2021 by his peers, capping off a sensational season to be awarded The Players’ Champion.

Trbojevic was announced as the recipient of the Rugby League Players’ Association (RLPA) honour live during Nine’s broadcast of the 2021 Grand Final.

The playmaker secured the win ahead of his fellow finalists James Tedesco, Nathan Cleary, Payne Haas and Cody Walker and joins an illustrious list of previous winners.

The Manly star was instrumental in leading his side into their 19th Finals appearance  – notching up 28 tries and 28 try-assists in a truly remarkable season.

The 24-year-old becomes the first Manly player to ever win The Players’ Champion honour.

The Players’ Champion Award will top off an accolade deluge for Trbojevic following his performance this year after being named, The 2021 Dally M Player of the Year, The Players’ Champion Fullback of The Year (The Players’ 13 Dream Team), The Dally M Fullback of the Year, The RLPA & NRL Academic Player of the Year, Manly’s 2021 Players’ Player, Manly’s 2021 Roy Bull Best & Fairest & Manly’s Leading Try Scorer award.

RLPA Chief Executive Officer, Clint Newton, congratulated all award recipients for excelling in the unique conditions that the 2021 season presented.

“I would like to congratulate Tom on being voted by his peers as the game’s best for 2021,” Newton said.

“Despite the challenges of 2021, this year’s finalists all had amazing season’s, but Tom’s season reached new and extraordinary heights and will definitely go down as one of the most brilliant individual performances in Rugby League history.

“On behalf of the players and RLPA, I would also like to thank Nine for their continued support in elevating the award this year through its inclusion in the Grand Final broadcast and our partners at Camplify for supporting the final award.”

With Camplify as Rugby League Players’ Champion Award sponsor, Camplify CEO and founder, Justin Hales congratulated Tom on winning the respect of his rivals and peers and taking out the much-coveted top prize.

“At Camplify we love travel, and we love footy. Camplify’s team and our fast-growing community of travellers and van owners send heartfelt congratulations to Tom for this peer recognition award win. Camplify is honoured to contribute $2500 towards a well-deserved holiday for Tom on We thank all RLPA Members for their contribution this season”.


The Players’ Champion NRL: Tom Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

Rookie of the Year: Reece Walsh (Warriors)

The Players’ 13 Dream Team: 1. Tom Trbojevic 2. Brian To’O 3. Justin Olam 4. Joseph Manu 5. Reuben Garrick 6. Cody Walker 7. Nathan Cleary 8. Payne Haas 9. Brandon Smith 10. James Fisher-Harris 11. Isaiah Papali’i 12. Angus Crichton 13. Isaah Yeo

Dennis Tutty Award: Christian Welch

The Players’ Champion Honour Roll:
2021 Tom Trbojevic

2020 Nathan Cleary
2019 James Tedesco
2018 Kalyn Ponga
2017 James Tedesco
2016 Jason Taumalolo
2015 Johnathan Thurston
2014 Johnathan Thurston
2013 Johnathan Thurston
2012 Ben Barba
2011 Akuila Uate
2010 Darius Boyd
2009 Jarryd Hayne
2008 Braith Anasta & Petero Civoniceva
2007 Matt Bowen
2006 Ben Kennedy
2005 Johnathan Thurston
2004 Danny Buderus

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners