Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

March 09, 2018

Thurston joins 300 Club

North Queensland Cowboys co-captain Johnathan Thurston will start the 2018 season by reaching his 300th NRL match tonight against the Sharks at 1300SMILES Stadium.

Thurston will become the 30th player to join the illustrious ‘300 Club’ – which includes current players Cameron Smith, Cooper Cronk, Chris Heighington, Luke Lewis, Ryan Hoffman and Paul Gallen.

The Souths Sunnybank junior made his NRL debut for the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs in Round 13 of the 2002 season, playing a total of 29 games for the Club – with his final appearance being the 2004 premiership victory.

Thurston joined the Cowboys in 2005 – leading North Queensland to their first-ever Grand Final that season, before eventually taking the Townsville-based side to their maiden premiership victory in 2015.

The four-time Players’ Champion and Dally M Medal winner has played 270 NRL games for the Cowboys and will tonight surpass Matt Bowen as the most-capped player in the Club’s history.

Thurston’s impressive career also includes an array of representative games, with 37 matches for Queensland, 38 Tests for Australia, six Indigenous All Stars caps and two Prime Minister’s XIII appearances.

The Rugby League Players’ Association would like to congratulate Thurston on joining the ‘300 Club’ and on his numerous accomplishments within those games.

358Cameron SmithMelbourne2002-2018
355Darren LockyerBrisbane1995-2001
350Terry LambWests, Canterbury1980-1996
349Steve MenziesManly, Northern Eagles1993-2008
347Corey ParkerBrisbane2001-2016
336Brad FittlerPenrith, Sydney Roosters1989-2004
332Cliff LyonsNorths, Manly1985-1999
330Nathan HindmarshParramatta1998-2012
328Andrew EttingshausenCronulla1983-2000
325Geoff GerardParramatta, Manly, Penrith1974-1989
323Cooper CronkMelbourne, Sydney Roosters2004-2018
318Jason CrokerCanberra1991-2006
317Hazem El MasriBulldogs1996-2009
317Chris HeighingtonWests Tigers, Cronulla, Newcastle2003-2018
315Paul LangmackCanterbury, Wests, Easts1983-1999
315Luke PriddisC’berra, B’bane, P’rith, St Geo Il1997-2010
313Steve PriceBulldogs, Warriors1994-2009
313Brent KiteSt Geo Ill, Manly, Penrith2002-2015
312Ruben WikiCanberra, Warriors1993-2008
309Petero CivonicevaBrisbane, Penrith1998-2012
307Brett KimmorleyN’stle, H’ter, Melb, N Eag, C’nulla, C’bury1995-2010
307Luke LewisPenrith, Cronulla2001-2018
305Ryan HoffmanMelbourne, Warriors2003-2018
304Paul GallenCronulla Sharks2001-2018
303Anthony WatmoughNorthern Eagles, Manly, Parramatta2002-2015
302Anthony MinichielloSydney Roosters2000-2014
301Luke RicketsonSydney Roosters1991-2005
300Scott PrinceN’th Qld, B’bane, Wests Tig, Gold C’st1998-2013
300John MorrisN’tle, P’matta, Wests Tigers, Cronulla2001-2014
Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners