Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

September 05, 2022

The 64 Contenders for The Players’ Champion (NRL) 2022

The Rugby League Players’ Association is pleased to announce the Contenders list for The Players’ Champion (NRL) award – outlining the four players from each team who are eligible for the prestigious individual honour.

The winners of both the NRL and NRLW The Players’ Champion awards will be announced during Channel 9’s Grand Final coverage on October 2.

Past recipients Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers), James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters), and Kalyn Ponga (Knights) feature on the star-studded shortlist.

About The Players’ Champion voting:

  • The Contenders’ list is made up of four players from each club that are nominated to be eligible for The Players’ Champion award. 
  • RLPA Delegates at each Club put forward the three best players from their own team. 
  • An RLPA Working Group nominates a fourth player to round out the nomination process.
  • In total, 64 players (four from each team) are eligible to receive votes in the end of season poll.
  • Voting is open to all contracted NRL players, with each player selecting opposition players using a 3/2/1 format.
  • Players are not penalised for any suspensions and/or fines received during the course of the season. 
  • Players cannot vote for their teammates.
  • The player with the most number of votes is awarded The Players’ Champion.

The five Finalists for The Players’ Champion (NRL) will be announced on September 21.

The Players’ Awards will also include a Rookie of the Year, a Dream Team, and the Dennis Tutty Award for both NRL and NRLW players.

All The Players’ Awards will be announced on Channel 9 on the following dates:

  • September 18: Dennis Tutty Award (NRL & NRLW)
  • September 20: Players’ Dream Team (NRL)
  • September 25: Players’ Rookie of the Year (NRL & NRLW)
  • September 28: Players’ Dream Team (NRLW)
  • October 2: The Players’ Champion (NRL & NRLW)

The 64 Contenders for The Players’ Champion (NRL):


James Tedesco

Joseph Manu

Joseph Sua’ali’i

Jared Waerea-Hargreaves


Alex Johnston

Keaon Koloamatangi

Junior Tatola

Latrell Mitchell


Kieran Foran

Haumole Olakau’atu

Jake Trbojevic

Daly Cherry-Evans


Dylan Edwards

Isaah Yeo

Apisai Koroisau

Nathan Cleary


Ben Hunt

Moses Suli

Jack De Belin 

Jack Bird


Joe Tapine

Adam Elliott

Hudson Young

Jack Wighton


Tino Fa’asuamaleaui

Erin Clark

Moeaki Fotuaika

Beau Fermor


Patrick Carrigan

Payne Haas

Adam Reynolds

Corey Oates


Joseph Ofahengaue

Kelma Tuilagi

Jackson Hastings

Dane Laurie


Cameron Munster 

Harry Grant 

Justin Olam

Nelson Asofa-Solomona 


Tohu Harris 

Marcelo Montoya

Wayde Egan

Addin Fonua-Blake


Valentine Holmes

Reece Robson

Scott Drinkwater

Jeremiah Nanai


David Klemmer

Dane Gagai

Dominic Young

Kalyn Ponga


Max King

Jeremy Marshall-King

Matt Burton

Josh Addo-Carr


Shaun Lane

Dylan Brown

Mitch Moses

Clinton Gutherson


Nicho Hynes 

Siosifa Talakai

Ronaldo Mulitalo 

Toby Rudolf

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners