Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

October 25, 2016

Kangaroos named for Scotland opener

Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga has named five debutants for the opening Four Nations match against Scotland, at Hull’s KC Lightstream Stadium on Friday.

Fullback Matt Moylan (Kangaroo No 812), centre Justin O’Neill (813), five-eighth James Maloney (811), lock Jake Trbojevic (814) and interchange player Jake Friend (815) will all play in the green and gold jersey for the first time.

Cooper Cronk will play his 30th Test match for Australia against the Bravehearts.

“I always planned to ensure the entire 24-man squad has played across the Perth Test and the Four Nations match against Scotland and that will set us up nicely for the rest of the tournament,” Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga said.

“I do have an idea of what my best possible squad would be but all players know they can break into the top team with a strong performance.”

  1. Matt Moylan *
  2. Josh Mansour
  3. Justin O’Neill *
  4. Josh Dugan
  5. Blake Ferguson
  6. James Maloney *
  7. Cooper Cronk
  8. Aaron Woods
  9. Cameron Smith (C)
  10. David Klemmer
  11. Sam Thaiday
  12. Tyson Frizell
  13. Jake Trbojevic *
  14. Jake Friend *
  15. Shannon Boyd
  16. Trent Merrin
  17. Michael Morgan
  18. Valentine Holmes
  19. Boyd Cordner

* Debutant

The Scotland Squad for the match has also been named and includes three starters from the NRL ranks in Lachlan Coote, Luke Douglas and Kane Linnett. 

  • Danny Addy
  • Euan Aitken
  • Ryan Brierley
  • Sam Brooks
  • Danny Brough (C)
  • Tyler Cassel
  • Lachlan Coote
  • Luke Douglas
  • Dale Ferguson
  • Ben Hellewell
  • Liam Hood
  • Ben Kavanagh
  • Kane Linnett
  • Frankie Mariano
  • Billy McConnachie
  • Sheldon Powe-Hobbs
  • Matty Russell
  • Lewis Tierney
  • Adam Walker
Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners