Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

September 22, 2017

Jillaroos team finalised for historic Test

The Australian Jillaroos have confirmed their line-up for tomorrow’s historic Test match against Papua New Guinea in Port Moresby.

Jillaroos Captain Ruan Sims failed to recover from illness in time to make the trip and has been replaced by Queensland’s Chelsea Lenarduzzi, with stalwarts Stephanie Hancock and Renae Kunst will share the captaincy.

The inclusion of Lenarduzzi means that seven players will make their International debut for the Jillaroos against the Orchids.

Lenarduzzi, Jessica Sergis, Meg Ward, Talesha Quinn, Sarah Walker, Lucy Lockhart and Maddison Bennett will pull on the green and gold jersey for the first time.

Jillaroos Co-Captain Hancock was stunned by the mass greeting for the Players yesterday in the Rugby League-obsessed city of Port Moresby.

“We were following the boy’s bus and just in awe of what was going on, especially with the Police and all the kids running on to the road,” Hancock said.

“I think there were twenty phones out on the girl’s bus, so if the boys missed something then I don’t doubt it will be one of ours for sure!”

Harvey Norman Jillaroos vs PNG:

  1. Chelsea Baker
  2. Jessica Sergis*
  3. Corban McGregor
  4. Amelia Kuk
  5. Meg Ward*
  6. Ali Brigginshaw
  7. Zahara Temara
  8. Elianna Walton
  9. Jenni-Sue Hoepper
  10. Stephanie Hancock (C)
  11. Kezie Apps
  12. Talesha Quinn*
  13. Renae Kunst (C)
  14. Sarah Walker*
  15. Annette Brander
  16. Vanessa Foliaki
  17. Chelsea Lenarduzzi*
  18. Lucy Lockhart*
  19. Kody House
  20. Maddison Bennett*

Coach: Brad Donald

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners