Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

July 20, 2022

Tamou becomes 300-gamer

James Tamou will join the illustrious 300 game club when his Wests Tigers side play the Cowboys, the team he debuted for, this weekend. He becomes the 45th player in the history of the premiership to reach the 300-game mark.

Before the Tigers, Tamou played for the Penrith Panthers and was a Premiership winner with the North Queensland Cowboys in 2015. Along with his NRL career, Tamou has had a long representative career for New South Wales, Australia and the All Stars.

Off the field, Tamou has contributed greatly to the game and fellow players. He is a member of the RLPA Men’s Player Advisory Group, which he joined ahead of the 2022 NRL season, and the Māori & Pasifika Advisory Group.

The Rugby League Players Association congratulates James on this rare and incredible achievement.

RLPA Chief Executive Officer Clint Newton on James’s massive milestone:

“Reaching 300 NRL games is an incredible milestone on its own. However, joining this distinguished club as a front rower adds another layer of significance for this personal achievement.”

“James has played the game with integrity and demonstrated tremendous skill. He has continually adjusted his game to match the increases in intensity, speed and demand. To James, his family and support network, we congratulate all of you and give thanks for your contribution.”

RLPA Player Operations Manager Tom Symonds on James’s 300th first grade game:

“Jimmy has been a relentless, fearless and highly respected player. He has also overcome some serious injuries to forge an incredibly successful career. Off the field Jimmy is the ultimate professional and has developed into an outstanding leader and role model.

“Jimmy is a vocal advocate for his fellow players. He has been a great supporter of the RLPA and his teammates over many years.

“It was an honour to have shared the field with Jimmy and a pleasure to work alongside him as an RLPA Delegate and Player Advisory Group member.”

RLPA Player Operations Manager Jamie Buhrer shared this message for James:

“Jimmy has experienced the height of success as an NRL Premiership winner with the Cowboys. He has also won a State of Origin series for NSW and a World Cup in 2013 for Australia.

“Off the field, Jimmy has been a selfless contributor in his role as an RLPA Delegate, Player Advisory Group member and Māori & Pasifika Advisory Group member. He has represented the views of the collective playing group with the same passion and leadership he’s shown on the field during his NRL career.

“We congratulate him on reaching this significant milestone.”


430 Cameron Smith Melbourne 2002-2020
372 Cooper Cronk Melbourne, Sydney Roosters 2004-2019
355 Darren Lockyer Brisbane 1995-2011
350 Terry Lamb Western Suburbs, Canterbury 1980-1996
349 Steve Menzies Manly, Northern Eagles 1993-2008
348 Paul Gallen Cronulla 2001-2019
347 Corey Parker Brisbane 2001-2016
346 Benji Marshall Wests Tigers, St George Illawarra, Brisbane, South Sydney 2003-2021
338 Chris Heighington Wests Tigers, Cronulla, Newcastle 2003-2018
337 Darius Boyd Brisbane, St George Illawarra, Newcastle 2006-2020
336 Brad Fittler Penrith, Sydney Roosters 1989-2004
336 John Sutton South Sydney 2004-2019
332 Cliff Lyons North Sydney, Manly 1985-1999
331 Adam Blair Melbourne, Wests Tigers, Brisbane, Warriors 2006-2020
330 Nathan Hindmarsh Parramatta 1998-2012
328 Andrew Ettingshausen Cronulla 1983-2000
326 Ryan Hoffman Melbourne, Warriors 2003-2018
325 Geoff Gerard Parramatta, Manly, Penrith 1974-1989
324 Luke Lewis Penrith, Cronulla 2001-2018
325 Josh Morris St George Illawarra, Canterbury, Cronulla, Syd Roosters 2007-2021
323 Johnathan Thurston Bulldogs, North Queensland 2002-2018
323 Gavin Cooper North Queensland, Gold Coast, Penrith 2006-2020
319 Billy Slater Melbourne 2003-2018
318 Jason Croker Canberra 1991-2006
317 Hazem El Masri Bulldogs 1996-2009
315 Paul Langmack Canterbury, Western Suburbs, Eastern Suburbs 1983-1999
315 Luke Priddis Canberra, Brisbane, Penrith, St George Illawarra 1997-2010
313 Steve Price Bulldogs, Warriors 1994-2009
313 Brent Kite St George Illawarra, Manly, Penrith 2002-2015
311 Ruben Wiki Canberra, Warriors 1993-2008
309 Petero Civoniceva Brisbane, Penrith 1998-2012
309 Mitchell Pearce Sydney Roosters, Newcastle 2007-2021
311 Aiden Tolman, Melbourne, Canterbury, Cronulla 2008–present
307 Brett Kimmorley Newcastle, Hunter, Melbourne, N Eagles, Cronulla, Canterbury 1995-2010
306 Mitch Aubusson Sydney Roosters 2007-2020
304 Sam Thaiday Brisbane 2003-2018
303 Anthony Watmough Northern Eagles, Manly, Parramatta 2002-2015
303 Robbie Farah Wests Tigers, South Sydney 2003-2019
302 Anthony Minichiello Sydney Roosters 2000-2014
301 Luke Ricketson Sydney Roosters 1991-2005
301 Simon Mannering Warriors 2005-2018
300 Scott Prince North Qld, Brisbane, Wests Tigers, Gold Coast 1998-2013
300 John Morris Newcastle, Parramatta, Wests Tigers, Cronulla 2001-2014
303 Andrew McCullough Brisbane, Newcastle, St George Illawarra 2008-present
299 James Tamou Cowboys, Penrith, Wests 2009-present

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners