Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

June 21, 2018

Immortals Shortlist Announced

The NRL has announced the ten players who have been shortlisted for election to the Immortals.

The shortlisted players are: Dally Messenger, Frank Burge, Dave Brown, Brian Bevan, Duncan Hall, Norm Provan, Ken Irvine, Ron Coote, Mal Meninga and Darren Lockyer.

“The calibre of players to be shortlisted for Immortal status is quite simply incredible,” NRL CEO Todd Greenberg said.

“These are unquestionably the elite Rugby League players – representatives with thousands of matches between them, and thousands of tries.

“And quite fittingly, we have a group which has collectively played in every single decade since Rugby League was formed in Australia.

“All these players deserve their place in such an esteemed group.

“Clearly having players eligible for induction from the pre-War era has opened up the prospect of some wonderful players, and some of the game’s pioneers, joining Immortal status.

“This is an illustrious group and I congratulate all the players who will now be considered for Immortality.”

Senior Manager of NRL Awards, Frank Puletua, said the 10 shortlisted players were chosen by the NRL Immortals 2018 Screening Committee.

He said the NRL Immortals 2018 Selection Panel – separate to the screening committee – would consider the shortlisted players before inducting up to two Immortals.

“This is a long and thorough process and one which we believe will see the right player or players join the Immortals,” Mr Puletua said.

“There will always be debate but it is difficult to argue against any of these shortlisted players being in this company.”

Up to two Immortals will be selected by the Immortals selection panel from the shortlist as part of a gala ceremony in August, which also includes the induction of six players to the NRL Hall of Fame.

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners