Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

September 01, 2014

Holden Cup Team of the Year

Players from nine clubs have been selected for the Holden Cup Team of the Year which was unveiled by the NRL today.

NRL Head of Football, Todd Greenberg said the National Youth Competition, known as the Holden Cup, is proving more important than ever before in preparing young players for the NRL.

He said the NYC had developed a host of young stars in 2014 who were already establishing themselves as first grade regulars.

These include Jake Mamo (8 first grade games), Joseph Tapine (7) and Sione Mata’utia (5) from Newcastle, Valentine Holmes (5) from the Sharks, Nene Macdonald (7) from the Roosters and Tepai Moeroa (7) from the Eels who had all been included in the Holden Cup Team of the Year.

“Some of these players, like Nene and Tepai, may have the opportunity to play Finals football in the NRL this year,” Mr Greenberg said.

“That is an incredible achievement – to go from the youth competition to the finals of the toughest competition in the world in the same year.

“But I think that indicates how strong the Holden Cup has become – and how well it prepares our young players for the NRL.”

Among the players from last year’s Holden Cup Team of the Year who played first grade this year were Luke Brooks, Michael Lichaa, Bryce Cartwright, Corey Oates and Dallin Watene-Zelezniak.

Mr Greenberg said the Holden Cup had been closer than ever this year with more than 50 games being decided by a margin of six or less.

Mr Greenberg said he was particularly pleased that so many Holden Cup players were taking on full time careers in addition to their football.

“Naturally we hope our young players will have successful NRL careers but the reality is that many of them will not become full time footballers.

“So it is important they pursue other employment and the NRL provides careers advice to help them move into tertiary studies and other work.

“It is no surprise, therefore to see members of the team of the year working in everything from hospitality and small business to nutrition and telecommunications.”

The official Holden Cup team of the year is:

No.PositionPlayer NameClubwork/study
1FullbackJake MamoKnightsCertificate 4 Small Business Traineeship
2WingValentine HolmesSharksWarehouse Assistant / Certificate 3/4 Fitness
3CentreSione Mata’utiaKnightsCertificate 4 Small Business Traineeship
4CentreBrendan ElliotRoostersHospitality – Easts Leagues Club
5WingNene MacdonaldRoostersFulltime Training Squad – Roosters
6Five-EighthTe Maire MartinTigersTelecommunications Trades Assistant
7Half-BackDrew HutchisonDragonsBachelor of Physical and Health Education
8PropAndy SaundersPanthersAdvanced Certificate of Nutrition
9HookerManaia CherringtonTigersScaffolding / Certificate 4 in Fitness
10PropSam LisoneWarriorsSelf Employed – Mentor/Coaching in Schools
11Second-rowNelson Asofa-SolomonaStormWarehouse Labouring – Silk Contract logistics
12Second-rowTepai MoeroaEelsCertificate 4 Youth Work – Tafe
13LockWillis MeehanRoostersFulltime Training Squad – Roosters
14InterchangeDanny LeviKnightsStoreman – Hunter Pods
15InterchangeJoseph TapineKnightsCertificate 4 Small Business Traineeship
16InterchangeAddin Fonua-BlakeDragonsMeat Packer – Aust Wholsale Meat / Cert 3/4 Fitness
17InterchangeKane ElgeyTitansLandscape Gardener
CoachMick CrawleyKnights

Photo: Jake Mamo scores in the corner despite the attempts of Lote Tuqiri NRL Rugby League, Round 21 South Sydney Rabbitohs v Newcastle Knights at Barlow Park, Cairns, Sunday August 3rd 2014.  (photo: Colin Whelan copyright:


Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners