Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

March 06, 2023

Frawley and Kaufusi join PAG

Matt Frawley and Felise Kaufusi have joined the Rugby League Players’ Association (RLPA) Men’s Player Advisory Group (PAG) for the 2023 season, strengthening the group’s knowledge and experience as the players continue their collective bargaining negotiations.

The pair have been elevated to the PAG following their time as Delegates at their NRL clubs. Frawley began as a Delegate for the Canberra Raiders in January 2022 and Kaufusi was a Delegate stalwart for the Melbourne Storm for over five years before his move to The Dolphins.

“I’m honoured to join the RLPA Men’s Player Advisory Group and have the opportunity to work towards improving the game for all players,” said Matt Frawley

“The NRL is a tough and physically demanding competition, and it’s important that we work towards ensuring the health and well-being of all players. As players, we understand the importance of collective bargaining negotiations and the impact it has on our future in the game.

“I’m committed to using my experience and voice to help make positive changes for players and the game as a whole.”

Frawley and Kaufusi will join their first Men’s Player Advisory Group meeting tonight Monday, March 6 where the players will make key decisions to help progress the CBA negotiations.

“I’m proud to be joining the RLPA Men’s Player Advisory Group and continuing my commitment to advocating for the rights of players in the NRL,” said Felise Kaufusi.

“As a Club Delegate for the RLPA at the Storm for over five years, I have always understood the importance of collective bargaining and the need to ensure that players are treated fairly and with respect.”

“Having spent a long time in the game, I’m excited to use my experience to help shape the future of rugby league and make a positive impact for players at all levels.”

RLPA CEO Clint Newton praised the additions of Kaufusi and Frawley, as well as the role played by the other PAG members during CBA negotiations. 

“The addition of Felise and Matt to the RLPA Men’s Player Advisory Group will be invaluable to our Association and collective bargaining negotiations. Matt has played at the elite level for a decade now and will bring a unique perspective to the group as a player who personifies the code’s character – resilient and selfless. Putting forward the perspective of Pasifika players will be part of the crucial role Felise will play on the PAG.” 

“Their contributions will add to the hard work of our other PAG members, who have helped to advance our negotiations and take us closer to securing a fair and sustainable agreement for all NRL and NRLW players.” 

“There is still work to do with our negotiations and we need the ARLC and NRL to agree to some key terms that go to the heart of player welfare and the sustainability of our game. It has been pleasing to bargain over recent weeks, with both sides making concessions to help these negotiations move forward. The RLPA would like to thank the players for their ongoing support and patience as we work towards a fair and sustainable deal.”

The RLPA can also announce their 63-player strong Club Delegate list, featuring new leaders Alex Twal, Justin Olam, Adam Elliott, Josh Addo-Carr, Max King, Andrew Davey, Hymel Hunt, and James Fisher-Harris. Jamal Fogarty and Addin Fonua-Blake are returning leaders for 2023.

Matt Frawley playing with the Canberra Raiders


The Men’s Player Advisory Group sits near the top of the RLPA leadership structure, and the players in the Group bring forward and discuss the views of the entire playing group and are responsible for key decision-making and strategy of the Association.

All players on the PAG remain as Delegates for their Clubs and four members, Daly Cherry-Evans, Wade Graham, Christian Welch and Josh Hodgson, are also Directors on the RLPA Board.


Matt Frawley, Felise Kaufusi, Daly Cherry-Evans, Wade Graham, Christian Welch, Josh Hodgson, Dale Finucane, Damien Cook, Chad Townsend, Kurt Capewell, James Tamou.


Broncos: Kurt Capewell, Pat Carrigan, Adam Reynolds

Bulldogs: Reed Mahoney, Josh Addo-Carr, Max King, Andrew Davey

Cowboys: Chad Townsend, James Tamou, Mitch Dunn, Peta Hiku, Ben Hampton 

Dragons: Moses Mbye, Josh Kerr, Zac Lomax

Dolphins: Felise Kaufusi, Euan Aitken

Eels: Clint Gutherson, Junior Paulo, Josh Hodgson, Shaun Lane

Knights: Lachlan Fitzgibbon, Adam Elliott, Tyson Frizell, Hymel Hunt

Panthers: Isaah Yeo, Nathan Cleary, James Fisher-Harris

Rabbitohs: Tom Burgess, Damien Cook, Latrell Mitchell, Cameron Murray

Raiders: Matt Frawley, Jamal Fogarty, Joseph Tapine, Jarrod Croker

Roosters: Victor Radley, Angus Crichton, Paul Momirovski

Sea Eagles: Daly Cherry-Evans, Toafofoa Sipley, Tom Trbojevic

Sharks: Wade Graham, Dale Finucane, Nicho Hynes, Ronaldo Mulitalo

Storm: Christian Welch, Harry Grant, Justin Olam

Titans: Aaron Booth, Joe Stimson, Sam McIntyre, Isaac Liu, Tino Fa’asuamaleaui

Warriors: Tohu Harris, Mitch Barnett, Wayde Egan, Addin Fonua-Blake, Jazz Tevaga 

Tigers: Api Koroisau, Stefano Utoikamanu, Alex Twal, David Nofoaluma

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners