Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

September 20, 2022

2022 Dream Team (NRL) chosen by players

The Rugby League Players Association (RLPA) is pleased to announce The Players’ Dream Team for the 2022 NRL season – the best 13 players in their positions, as voted by the players.

The 2022 Players’ Dream Team for the NRL competition is:

Fullback: James Tedesco

Wingers: Joseph Sua’ali’i & Daniel Tupou

Centres: Joseph Manu & Justin Olam

Five-Eighth: Cameron Munster

Halfback: Ben Hunt

Props: James Fisher-Harris & Joseph Tapine

Hooker: Api Koroisau

Second Rowers: Jeremiah Nanai & Isaiah Papali’i

Lock: Cameron Murray

It’s a history-making appearance in the Players’ Dream Team for James Tedesco, with the fullback picked by the players for a record fourth time after previously claiming a spot in the 2017, 2019 and 2020 Dream Teams. Tedesco has now edged ahead of Cameron Smith and Nathan Cleary on the all-time Dream Team appearances list, with the latter two tied for second with three appearances each.

Cameron Munster joins Cleary and Smith on three appearances with his selection in 2022.

Joseph Sua’ali’i, Ben Hunt, Api Koroisau, Joseph Tapine, Jeremiah Nanai, and Cameron Murray make their first ever appearances on The Players’ Dream Team.

Justin Olam, Joseph Manu, James Fisher-Harris and Isaiah Papali’i continue their rich vein of form and respect from their fellow players, with all four retaining their places in the XIII after featuring on the 2021 Dream Team. 

Daniel Tupou returns to the Players’ Dream Team after first claiming a wing spot in 2019.

Clint Newton, the CEO of the RLPA, praised the 13 players from the NRL who were chosen by their fellow players to feature in the 2022 Dream Team:

“All throughout 2022, we’ve watched in awe as NRL players continued to deliver great athleticism, skill, grit and physicality for their clubs and fans. This year, the players’ performances have been of the highest calibre and the quality of the games has been unbelievable.

“The Players’ Awards is all about rivalries meeting respect. The players will battle away on the field, but they all have a massive amount of genuine respect for each other. It’s the hardest game in the world to play, and none of the players forget that because they live it every day. With an abundance of talent to choose from, it certainly wouldn’t have been easy for the players to pick their best 13.

“The RLPA congratulates all thirteen players for being voted into the Dream Team by their fellow players. It’s a massive honour to earn such respect from your peers and be chosen as the best player in your position for that NRL season.

Andrew Johns reveals the Players’ Dream Team on Channel Nine

Most appearances in The Players’ Dream Teams from the NRL:

  • 4 – James Tedesco
  • 3 – Cameron Munster, Cameron Smith, Nathan Cleary
  • 2 – Joseph Manu, Justin Olam, Daniel Tupou, James Fisher-Harris, Isaiah Papali’i, Payne Haas, David Nofoaluma, Josh Papali’i, Viliame Kikau, Latrell Mitchell, Jake Trbojevic 

Previous Players’ Dream Teams from the NRL:

  • 2021: Tom Trbojevic, Brian To’o, Justin Olam, Joseph Manu, Reuben Garrick, Cody Walker, Nathan Cleary, Payne Haas, Brandon Smith, James Fisher-Harris, Isaiah Papali’i, Angus Crichton, Isaah Yeo
  • 2020: James Tedesco, David Nofoaluma, Kotoni Staggs, Brian Kelly, Brett Morris, Luke Keary, Nathan Cleary, Josh Papali’i, Cameron Smith, Sio Siua Taukeiaho, Viliame Kikau, Tohu Harris, Cameron McInnes
  • 2019: James Tedesco, Maika Sivo, Latrell Mitchell, Will Hopoate, Daniel Tupou, Cameron Munster, Daly Cherry-Evans, Payne Haas, Cameron Smith, Josh Papali’i, John Bateman, Kenny Bromwich, Jake Trbojevic
  • 2018: Kalyn Ponga, Valentine Holmes, Latrell Mitchell, Esan Marsters, Jamayne Isaako, Cameron Munster, Johnathan Thurston, Andrew Fifita, Damien Cook, Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Viliame Kikau, Tariq Sims, Jake Trbojevic
  • 2017: James Tedesco, Jordan Rapana, Konrad Hurrell, Dane Gagai, David Nofoaluma, Gareth Widdop, Nathan Cleary, Aaron Woods, Cameron Smith, David Klemmer, Jason Taumalolo, Wade Graham, Sam Burgess

How The Players’ Dream Team voting works:

  • Players are eligible for selection in a position they primarily played for the relevant season. This means a player cannot be eligible for selection in more than one position. 
  • Each player will be able to nominate a maximum of one player per position, out of the list of eligible players, however, are not able to vote for players on their current team. 
  • The player with the highest point total for each individual position will be selected in the Dream Team. 
  • Voting is open to all contracted NRL players.

The Players’ Awards schedule announced on Channel 9:

  • September 21: The Players’ Champion Finalists (NRL)
  • September 22: The Players’ Champion Finalists (NRLW)
  • September 23: Players’ Rookie of the Year Finalists (NRL & NRLW)
  • September 25: Players’ Rookie of the Year (NRL & NRLW)
  • September 28: The Players’ Dream Team (NRLW)
  • October 2: The Players’ Champion (NRL & NRLW)
Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners