Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

September 13, 2023

Contenders revealed for 2023 Players’ Champion (NRLW)

The Rugby League Players’ Association is pleased to announce the 40 Contenders for 2023 The Players’ Champion award, outlining the four players from each NRLW team eligible for the prestigious individual honour.

The Players’ Champion award winners (NRL and NRLW) will be announced during Channel 9’s Grand Final coverage on October 1.

Past recipients Emma Tonegato (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Simaima Taufa (Canberra Raiders), Georgia Hale (Gold Coast Titans), and reigning Champion Raecene McGregor (St George Illawarra Dragons) feature on the impressive list.

The Players’ Awards also include a Rookie of the Year, a Dream Team, and the Dennis Tutty Award for both NRL and NRLW players.

About The Players’ Champion voting:

  • The Contenders’ list is made up of four players from each club who are nominated by their RLPA club Delegates to be eligible for The Players’ Champion individual award. 
  • In total, 40 players are then eligible to receive Players’ Champion votes in the end-of-season poll.
  • Voting is open to all contracted NRL players, with each player selecting opposition Contenders using a 3/2/1 format. Players cannot vote for their teammates.
  • Players are not penalised for any suspensions and/or fines received during the course of the season. 
  • The individual player with the most votes across all teams is awarded The Players’ Champion.

All The Players’ Awards will be announced on Channel 9 on the following dates:

  • September 17: Dennis Tutty Award (NRL & NRLW)
  • September 19: Players’ Dream Team (NRL)
  • September 21: Players’ Champion Finalists (NRL & NRLW)
  • September 24: Players’ Rookie of the Year (NRL & NRLW)
  • September 28: Players’ Dream Team (NRLW)
  • October 1: The Players’ Champion (NRL & NRLW)

The 40 Contenders for The Players’ Champion (NRL):


Ali Brigginshaw

Annetta-Claudia Nu’uausala

Mariah Denman

Mele Hufanga


Emma Manzelmann

China Polata

Francesca Goldthorp

Tallisha Harden


Teagan Berry

Alexis Tauaneai

Raecene McGregor

Tyla Nathan-Wong


Abbi Church

Mahalia Murphy

Rueben Cherrington

Cassey Tohi-Hiku


Tamika Upton

Yasmin Clydsdale

Shanice Parker

Kayla Romaniuk


Ash Quinlan

Simaima Taufa

Zahara Temara

Chante Temara


Otesa Pule

Corban Baxter

Isabelle Kelly

Tarryn Aiken


Annessa Biddle

Ellie Johnston

Tiana Penitani

Emma Tonegato


Sarah Togatuki

Jakiya Whitfeld

Christian Pio

Leianne Tufuga


Shannon Mato

Lauren Brown

Georgia Hale

Evania Pelite

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners