Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

September 28, 2015

Dally M #4 for JT

North Queensland Cowboys halfback Johnathan Thurston has won an unprecedented fourth Dally M Player of the Year award.

Thurston polled 32 points, beating Michael Ennis, Aaron Woods and Benji Marshall (21 points) to the prestigious Medal.   In doing so, Thurston became the first ever player to win four Dally M Player of the Year awards.

Thurston also won his second consecutive Dally M Player of the Year award, following his joint award with Jarryd Hayne in 2014, as well as his sole Medals in 2005 and 2007.   Thurston accepted his fourth award in a special ceremony in Townsville, where he is preparing for the 2015 NRL Telstra Premiership grand final on Sunday against Brisbane Broncos at ANZ Stadium.

On a remarkable night for the playmaker, Thurston was also given the Captain of the Year award (joint with Cowboys co-captain Matt Scott), the Halfback of the Year award, as well as the Provan Summons People’s Choice Medal.

The Cowboys’ opponents in Sunday’s historic all-Queensland grand final, Brisbane Broncos, also had a successful night. Wayne Bennett earned the Coach of the Year award as he attempts to win an eighth premiership, while Corey Parker won the Best Representative Player award during the glittering awards night at venue partner The Star.

Gold Coast’s Luke Douglas was awarded the Ken Stephen Medal at a glittering event at The Star in Sydney.

Jenni-Sue Hoepper took out the inaugural Female Player of the Year award.

The full list of winners is:

  • Dally M Player of the Year: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)
  • Captain of the Year: Johnathan Thurston/Matt Scott (North Queensland Cowboys)
  • Coach of the Year: Wayne Bennett (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Peter Moore Award for Rookie of the Year: Jack Bird (Cronulla Sharks)
  • Best Representative Player: Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Fullback of the Year: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters)
  • Winger of the Year: Semi Radradra (Parramatta Eels)
  • Centre of the Year: James Roberts (Gold Coast Titans)
  • Five-eighth of the Year: Blake Austin (Canberra Raiders)
  • Halfback of the Year: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)
  • Lock of the Year: Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)
  • Second-rower of the Year: Josh Jackson (Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs)
  • Prop of the Year: Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)
  • Hooker of the Year: Michael Ennis (Cronulla Sharks)
  • Top Points Scorer: Jarrod Croker (Canberra Raiders)
  • Top Try Scorer: Semi Radradra (Parramatta Eels)
  • Provan Summons People’s Choice Medal: Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys)
  • Holden Cup Player of the Year: Ashley Taylor (Brisane Broncos)
  • Female Player of the Year: Jenni-Sue Hoepper
  • Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Nathan Friend (Warriors)
  • Ken Stephen Medal: Luke Douglas (Gold Coast Titans)
Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners