Competition General News

Queensland name side for Game I

Queensland Maroons coach Kevin Walters has named an 18-man squad for the opening match of the 2017 Holden State of Origin series.

Johnathan Thurston has been named in jersey 18 as he attempts to overcome a shoulder injury, with Queensland debutant Anthony Milford named at five-eighth in the starting side.

Roosters prop Dylan Napa has also been named for his first State of Origin appearance, earning a call-up to the starting forward pack that includes Nate Myles, Josh Papalii, Matt Gillett and Josh McGuire.

RLPA General President Cam Smith will once again captain the side for the May 31 match at Suncorp Stadium.

Queensland Maroons Game I team

1 Darius Boyd Brisbane Broncos
 2 Corey Oates Brisbane Broncos
3 Will Chambers Melbourne Storm
 4 Justin O’Neill NQ Cowboys
 5 Dane Gagai Newcastle Knights
 6 Anthony Milford Brisbane Broncos
 7 Cooper Cronk Melbourne Storm
8 Dylan Napa Sydney Roosters
 9 Cameron Smith (c) Melbourne Storm
 10 Nate Myles Manly Sea Eagles
 11 Josh Papalii Canberra Raiders
 12 Matt Gillett Brisbane Broncos
 13 Josh McGuire Brisbane Broncos
 14 Michael Morgan NQ Cowboys
 15 Sam Thaiday Brisbane Broncos
 16 Aidan Guerra Sydney Roosters
 17 Jacob Lillyman NZ Warriors
 18 Johnathan Thurston NQ Cowboys