Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

September 19, 2019

RLPA announce NRLW Players’ Champion

Image courtesy of

Click here for’s story

The Rugby League Players’ Association (RLPA) has today announced the introduction of an NRLW Players’ Champion award – which will crown the best player in the competition, as voted by players.

The winner of the inaugural award will be announced on October 14 at The Players’ Champion event at Foxtel on Oxford.

Previously, the RLPA has awarded an Elite Female Player of the Year at the event – which was based on representative fixtures.

The change this year means the best player from the NRLW competition will be honoured during the event.

The voting system for the award will mirror the new system for the NRL award, which was introduced last year, where players vote in a 3,2,1 points system at the conclusion of the season.

RLPA Chief Executive Ian Prendergast said the award will be an important part of the upcoming event.

“Ensuring that we properly acknowledge the performances of our members competing in the Women’s Premiership is important for the RLPA,” Mr Prendergast said.

“We are excited to introduce the NRLW Players’ Champion award this year, which will crown the best player from the competition, as voted by players.

“We hope to build on this concept in years to come, with the male version of the award held in such high regard by our members as it is a peer-voted honour.

“We look forward to our members from both the NRL and NRLW joining us to celebrate their achievements, as well as the 40-year history of the RLPA, on October 14 at Foxtel on Oxford.”

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners