Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

September 19, 2016

Moylan added to Prime Minister’s XIII

Penrith Panthers captain Matt Moylan will join the Australian Prime Minister’s XIII as the team prepares to fly to Port Moresby later this week for the match against the PNG Prime Minister’s XIII on Saturday afternoon.

Kangaroos and PM’s XIII coach Mal Meninga said Moylan thoroughly deserved his spot in one of the strongest PM’s XIII teams ever assembled, after an outstanding year leading the Panthers and as part of the New South Wales State of Origin team.

“Matt is a versatile player and a confident leader both on and off the field,” Meninga said.

“He has had an impressive year and I expect him to play a pivotal role amongst our team in what will be hot and humid playing conditions in Port Moresby.”

Meninga also confirmed that select players from the Broncos and Panthers had been chosen in a wider Kangaroos train-on squad ahead of the Perth Test Match on October 15 and the Four Nations in October and November this year.

Meninga said players selected in the Prime Minister’s XIII would gain automatic consideration for the Kangaroos’ Four Nations squad.  The Kangaroos squad will be announced in early October.

Australian Prime Minister’s XIII:

  1. James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)
  2. Semi Radradra (Parramatta Eels)
  3. Greg Inglis © (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
  4. Josh Dugan (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  5. Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters)
  6. Mitchell Moses (Wests Tigers)
  7. Mitchell Pearce (Sydney Roosters)
  8. Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)
  9. Jake Friend (Sydney Roosters)
  10. Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)
  11. Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters)
  12. Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra Dragons)
  13. Josh Jackson (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
  14. David Klemmer (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
  15. Moses Mbye (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
  16. Dylan Napa (Sydney Roosters)
  17. Jake Trbojevic (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)
  18. Matt Moylan (Penrith Panthers)

Coach: Mal Meninga

Kangaroos train-on squad

(additional players not selected for PM’s XIII, but in contention for Kangaroos team positions):

  • Josh Mansour (Penrith Panthers)
  • Trent Merrin (Penrith Panthers)
  • Bryce Cartwright (Penrith Panthers)
  • Darius Boyd (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Corey Oates (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Anthony Milford (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Ben Hunt (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos)
  • Josh McGuire (Brisbane Broncos)
Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners