Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

November 05, 2015

Maguire joins Robinson on Competition Committee

Sydney Roosters’ Trent Robinson and South Sydney’s Michael Maguire have been selected as the coaching representatives on the NRL Competition Committee.

A vote by the 16 NRL Club coaches has determined Robinson and Maguire will represent them on the Competition Committee  for a two-year term.

Robinson is an incumbent Competition Committee member, while Maguire will join the 11-member group for the first time.

NRL Head of Football Todd Greenberg praised the coaches for their strong input through the process.

“The coaches collectively wanted to vote for their own representatives on the Competition Committee and Trent and Michael will no doubt be important voices in the group,” Mr Greenberg said.

“It is also important to bring some diversity to this group, which is why the structure of the Competition Committee was altered.

“Michael Maguire will bring a new voice to the room, along with Kangaroos captain Cameron Smith and Jillaroos skipper Steph Hancock.

“This group is charged with recommending some of the most important decisions in the game, so it is critical to have the sort of experience and knowledge that those representatives bring, along with the likes of Darren Lockyer.

“The coaches were fully supportive of this process and I’d like to thank all the seven nominees who were put forward for positions. We have an incredibly strong coaching group and I’m sure Trent and Michael will be exceptional representatives of the group on the important Competition Committee.”

Mr Greenberg also thanked Brisbane Broncos coach Wayne Bennett for his service through his time on the Competition Committee.

The new 11-member Competition Committee will comprise:

  • NRL Head of Football (Chairman)
  • NRL Chief Executive
  • ARLC Chairman/Commissioner
  • RLPA representative (General President, Clint Newton)
  • NRL Referees Elite Performance Manager
  • Two nominated NRL Head Coaches (Trent Robinson and Michael Maguire)
  • One former coach (minimum 200 matches)
  • One former player (minimum 300 matches)
  • Kangaroos captain
  • Jillaroos captain
Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners