Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

September 25, 2014

Hodkinson awarded Ken Stephen Medal

Canterbury Bulldogs halfback Trent Hodkinson was tonight awarded the coveted Ken Stephen Medal for his outstanding service to the community at the 2014 NRL One Community Awards.

Hodkinson, 25, took out the prestigious award at a special ceremony held at CarriageWorks in Sydney, intensifying the excitement around the NRL Telstra Premiership final series.

2014 was Hodkinson’s year both on and off field thanks to his exceptional playing performance and his tireless work within the greater community.

As an ambassador for the RSPCA, Hodkinson was a key figure in raising awareness and funding for the Million Paws Walk initiative as well as continuing his altruism on field by writing the name of a sick or disadvantaged child on his kicking tee every game.

Hodkinson also formed a special bond with seven year-old Rebecca Adouni, supporting her and her family as Rebecca went through a period of bullying at school. His friendship with the young Bulldogs fan has helped her confidence turn around and become happy and comfortable in her own skin.

“It’s a massive achievement to be in a room with a lot of people who do such great work, it’s an honour,” said Hodkinson of his win. “There are so many players out there who do such great jobs in their own communities and I feel very privileged to have this award.”

Hodkinson was one of eight award-winners announced at the One Community Awards ceremony. The annual event recognises the unsung heroes that dedicate their time to promoting the strong values of the game within the community.

More than 260 guests, including former and current players, NRL club officials, award nominees, sponsors and guests attended the inspiring ceremony to celebrate the people that make the game happen on a grassroots level.

NRL Chief Executive Dave Smith said the One Community Awards were the opportunity to celebrate and thank those people who are the heart-and-soul of the game.

“This is our opportunity to acknowledge the countless hours that volunteers, officials, game administrators and elite players dedicate to the game and their communities throughout the year,” Mr Smith said. “On behalf of all of the NRL, I’d like to congratulate Trent Hodkinson and all of the NRL One Community Award winners for their inspirational work.

“Every story demonstrates that through the power of the game we can change lives for the better and bring communities together.”

The Ken Stephen Medal is named after the NSWRL administrator who dedicated 28 years of service to the game.

From establishing programs to support professional athletes studying at university to dedicating hundreds of hours to children’s literacy programs and striving to stamp out bullying in schools across the country, the players nominated for the medal have all demonstrated significant achievements and dedication to community endeavours.

Alongside Hodkinson, the One Community Awards honour roll included the following award winners:

  • Holden National Volunteer of the Year: Gary Fa’afua of Bexley, NSW (NSWRL)
  • Telstra NRL One Community Grassroots Club of the Year: Sunset Tigers Junior Rugby League Football Club, Mt Isa, QLD (QRL)
  • Harvey Norman Women in League Achievement Award: Erin Rowe of Northfield, SA (SARL)
  • ACCOR National Teacher of the Year: Jon Keal of Tullawong State High School, QLD

The AAMI Service to Rugby League Medal recipients were:

  • Michael Covey of Beacon Hill, NSW (NSWRL)
  • Sandra Ellicot of Coffs Harbour, NSW (CRL)
  • John Moore of Dianella, WA (WARL)
Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners