Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

March 31, 2017

Heighington joins 300 Club

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks forward Chris Heighington will play his 300th NRL game tomorrow afternoon, joining an illustrious group of just 25 other players to reach the milestone.

Heighington will be one of just three current NRL players to have played 300 first grade games, alongside RLPA General President Cameron Smith and halfback Cooper Cronk.

The 35-year-old made his NRL debut in 2003 for the Wests Tigers, playing 201 games for the joint venture and winning a premiership with the Club in 2005.

The Umina Bunnies junior swapped teams to the Sharks in 2013, so far notching up 98 games and winning his second NRL title last season.

RLPA CEO Ian Prendergast congratulated Heighington on this outstanding achievement.

“From everyone at the RLPA, we would like to congratulate Chris on a what is a terrific achievement,” Mr Prendergast said. “To be one of only a small number of players who have reached this milestone really is a testament to the player he is.

“To be able to play 300 NRL games is something to be very proud of, especially when you consider the gruelling nature of this great game.

“Based on feedback from his teammates, it’s clear that Chris is a real heart and soul player that they love to run out on the field alongside.”

The Sharks will host the Newcastle Knights tomorrow afternoon at Southern Cross Group Stadium, with Heighington set to celebrate the achievement in front of a home crowd.


Date of Birth: 14/1/1982

Position: Lock, Second Row

Rep. Honours: 4 Test for England, PM’s XIII (’08-’09), Country Origin (’08-’11), NRL All Stars (2013)

Junior Clubs: Umina Bunnies

NRL Clubs: Wests Tigers (2003-12), Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (2013-present)

NRL Debut: Wests Tigers v St George Illawarra Dragons, Round 1, 2003

Premierships: 2 (2005 – Wests Tigers, 2016 – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

NRL Tries: 41


355 Darren Lockyer (Brisbane 1995–2011)

350 Terry Lamb (Western Suburbs, Canterbury-Bankstown 1980–1996)

349 Steve Menzies (Manly-Warringah, Northern Eagles 1993–2008)

347 Corey Parker (Brisbane 2001–2016)

339 Cameron Smith (Melbourne 2002–)

336 Brad Fittler (Penrith, Sydney Roosters 1989–2004)

332 Cliff Lyons (North Sydney, Manly-Warringah 1985–1999)

330 Nathan Hindmarsh (Parramatta 1998–2012)

328 Andrew Ettingshausen (Cronulla-Sutherland 1983–2000)

325 Geoff Gerard (Parramatta, Manly-Warringah, Penrith 1974–1989)

318 Jason Croker (Canberra 1991–2006)

317 Hazem El Masri (Canterbury-Bankstown 1996–2009)

315 Paul Langmack (Canterbury-Bankstown, Western Suburbs, Sydney Roosters 1983–1999)

315 Luke Priddis (Canberra, Brisbane, Penrith, St. George Illawarra 1997–2010)

313 Steve Price (Canterbury-Bankstown, New Zealand Warriors 1994–2009)

313 Brent Kite (St. George Illawarra, Manly-Warringah, Penrith 2002–2015)

312 Ruben Wiki (Canberra, New Zealand Warriors 1993–2008)

309 Petero Civoniceva (Brisbane, Penrith 1998–2012)

307 Brett Kimmorley (Newcastle, Hunter, Melbourne, Northern Eagles, Cronulla-Sutherland, Canterbury-Bankstown 1995–2010)

307 Cooper Cronk (Melbourne 2004–)

303 Anthony Watmough (Northern Eagles, Manly-Warringah, Parramatta 2002–2015)

302 Anthony Minichiello (Sydney Roosters 2000–2014)

301 Luke Ricketson (Sydney Roosters 1991–2005)

300 Scott Prince (North Queensland, Brisbane, Wests Tigers, Gold Coast 1998–2013)

300 John Morris (Newcastle, Parramatta, Wests Tigers, Cronulla-Sutherland 2001–2014)

299* Chris Heighington (Wests Tigers, Cronulla-Sutherland 2003 -)

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners