Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

September 05, 2023

Contenders revealed for 2023 Players’ Champion (NRL)

The Rugby League Players’ Association is pleased to announce the Contenders for 2023 The Players’ Champion award, outlining the four players from each NRL team who are eligible for the prestigious individual honour.

The Players’ Champion award winners (NRL and NRLW) will be announced during Channel 9’s Grand Final coverage on October 1.

Past recipients Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers), Kalyn Ponga (Newcastle Knights), and three-time and reigning Champion James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters) feature on the impressive Contenders list.

The Players’ Awards also include a Rookie of the Year, a Dream Team, and the Dennis Tutty Award for both NRL and NRLW players. The 40 Contenders from the NRLW competition will be announced on September 12.

About The Players’ Champion voting:

  • The Contenders’ list is made up of four players from each club who are nominated to be eligible for The Players’ Champion individual award. 
  • RLPA Delegates put forward three Contenders from their own teams before an RLPA Working Group nominates a fourth and final player from each team.
  • In total, 68 players are then eligible to receive Players’ Champion votes in the end-of-season poll.
  • Voting is open to all contracted NRL players, with each player selecting opposition Contenders using a 3/2/1 format. Players cannot vote for their teammates.
  • Players are not penalised for any suspensions and/or fines received during the course of the season. 
  • The player with the most number of votes across all teams is awarded The Players’ Champion.

All The Players’ Awards will be announced on Channel 9 on the following dates:

  • September 17: Dennis Tutty Award (NRL & NRLW)
  • September 19: Players’ Dream Team (NRL)
  • September 21: Players’ Champion Finalists (NRL & NRLW)
  • September 24: Players’ Rookie of the Year (NRL & NRLW)
  • September 28: Players’ Dream Team (NRLW)
  • October 1: The Players’ Champion (NRL & NRLW)

The 68 Contenders for The Players’ Champion (NRL):


Adam Reynolds

Reece Walsh

Payne Haas

Patrick Carrigan


Jacob Kiraz

Jacob Preston

Jake Averillo

Reed Mahoney


Scott Drinkwater

Valentine Holmes

Tom Dearden

Reece Robson


Jamayne Isaako

Connelly Lemuelu

Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow

Jeremy Marshall-King


Jack De Belin

Zac Lomax

Blake Lawrie

Ben Hunt


Clint Gutherson

Mitch Moses

J’maine Hopgood

Junior Paulo 


Kalyn Ponga

Bradman Best

Jackson Hastings

Greg Marzhew


Dylan Edwards

Brian To’o

Scott Sorensen

Nathan Cleary


Damien Cook

Cody Walker

Campbell Graham

Cameron Murray


Matt Timoko

Sebastian Kris

Joseph Tapine

Corey Horsburgh


Lindsay Collins

Joseph Manu

James Tedesco

Daniel Tupou

Sea Eagles

Daly Cherry-Evans

Reuben Garrick

Haumole Olakau’atu

Lachlan Croker


Nicho Hynes

Blayke Brailey

Briton Nikora

William Kennedy


Harry Grant

Cameron Munster

Jahrome Hughes

Nick Meaney


Jahream Bula

John Bateman

David Klemmer

Apisai Koroisau


Tino Fa’asuamaleaui

Moeaki Fotuaika

Phillip Sami

David Fifita


Shaun Johnson

Addin Fonua-Blake

Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad

Dallin Watene-Zelezniak

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners