Skip to main content

Posted by RLPA

August 05, 2019

2019 Ken Stephen Medal nominees announced


James Tedesco, Josh Addo-Carr, Gavin Cooper, Connor Watson and Sia Soliola are amongst some of the game’s biggest names to be nominated by their clubs for the 2019 Ken Stephen Medal.

The 2019 Ken Stephen Medallist will be announced during Grand Final week, with voting now open on, providing fans the opportunity to select a nominee they feel deserves to be a finalist.  The player with the highest number of votes will be included as one of four finalists announced next month.

Three other finalists will be voted via a panel of judges from across the game’s administration.

This is the 31st year of the Ken Stephen Medal, with the award recognising the efforts of an NRL player who has not only achieved on the field, but has committed time off the field to supporting community projects.

2019 will also see the introduction of a reciprocal medal for a female NRL player – the Veronica White Medal – with nominees also announced next month.

NRL Head of Government and Community Relations, Jaymes Boland-Rudder said this year’s Ken Stephen Medal nominees showcased a glimpse of a majority of NRL players that privately and publicly support community and charitable initiatives throughout the year.

“Each of the nominees have had wonderful seasons to date and are to be congratulated for focusing their efforts off the field in a range of positive ways, ultimately benefiting local communities,” Mr Boland-Rudder said.

“Regardless of the final award, I thank these nominees – and many more – for their support of NRL, club and personal community programs throughout the year.”

Fan voting is open on the NRL’s community page on through to 9:00am on Monday 19 August.

For more information about the Ken Stephen Medal and to vote, click here.

The 2019 Ken Stephen Medal is proudly supported by wealth, property and wellbeing consultancy, One Solutions.

The 2019 Ken Stephen Medal nominees are: 

Andrew McCullough – Brisbane Broncos
Sia Soliola – Canberra Raiders
Adam Elliott – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
Josh Dugan – Cronulla Sharks
Michael Gordon – Gold Coast Titans
Joel Thompson – Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles
Josh Addo-Carr – Melbourne Storm
Connor Watson – Newcastle Knights
Gavin Cooper – North Queensland Cowboys
Nathan Brown – Parramatta Eels
Frank Winterstein – Penrith Panthers
Corey Norman – St George-Illawarra Dragons
James Tedesco – Sydney Roosters
Agnatius Paasi – New Zealand Warriors
Josh Aloiai – Wests Tigers

Partner Promotion

Visit our Partners