General News

Kangaroos squad selected for ANZAC Test

The Australian Rugby League Commission has today selected the following players to represent the Australian Kangaroos in the 2017 ANZAC Test.

The 2017 ANZAC Test match, against New Zealand at Canberra’s GIO Stadium on Friday, May 5, will be Australian Captain Cameron Smith’s 50th Test match, as well as his 27th as Captain.

Smith will become just the second player to play 50 Test matches for Australia, behind Darren Lockyer (59), while he will also join Clive Churchill as Australia’s second most capped captain.

The 20-man squad contains five Club captains (or co-captains) – Darius Boyd (Brisbane), Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys), Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers), Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm) and Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters).

“This is an incredibly important game for us, coming in a World Cup year,” Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga said.

“Any Test match is important, but the fact this will be Cameron’s 50th Test match certainly adds some extra significance.

“Cameron’s incredible milestones will form a significant part of our week.”

Meninga said that given the short preparation, he and Kangaroos selectors had looked to reward those who played in the successful Four Nations campaign in 2016.

“Not only do these players have established combinations with each other, but they are also well aware of our values,” Meninga said.

“However the State of Origin series and then the remainder of the NRL Premiership will be major considerations when we look to name our squad for the World Cup later this year.”

The Kangaroos squad will assemble on Monday, May 1 in Canberra.

The 2017 ANZAC Test Kangaroos squad is:

Position Player NRL Club Junior Club
Fullback Darius Boyd Brisbane Broncos Mudgeeraba Redbacks
Wing Blake Ferguson Sydney Roosters Wellington Cowboys/Earlwood Saints
Centre Josh Dugan St George Illawarra Dragons South Tuggeranong Knights/Valley Dragons
Centre Will Chambers Melbourne Storm Nhulunbuy, NT
Wing Valentine Holmes Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks Western Lions/Townsville
Five-Eighth Johnathan Thurston (vc) North Queensland Cowboys Souths Sunnybank
Halfback Cooper Cronk Melbourne Storm Souths Acacia
Prop Aaron Woods Wests Tigers Leichhardt Juniors
Hooker Cameron Smith (c) Melbourne Storm Logan Brothers
Prop David Klemmer Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs All Saints Toongabbie
Second Row Boyd Cordner Sydney Roosters Old Bar Pirates
Second Row Matt Gillett Brisbane Broncos Bribie Island Warrigals
Lock Trent Merrin Penrith Panthers Shellharbour Sharks
Interchange Michael Morgan North Queensland Cowboys Townsville Brothers
Interchange Josh Papalii Canberra Raiders Logan Brothers
Interchange Tyson Frizell St George Illawarra Dragons Corrimal Cougars
Interchange Sam Thaiday Brisbane Broncos Townsville Brothers
18th man Shannon Boyd Canberra Raiders Cowra Magpies
19th man James Maloney Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks St Edwards, Gosford
20th man Justin O’Neill North Queensland Cowboys Hughenden Hawks/Townsville Brothers