FAQs – The Players’ Champion awards

Who is eligible to vote on The Players’ Champion (NRL)?

All contracted NRL players are eligible to vote in The Players’ Champion. Players can only vote once and are restricted to only voting for opposition players from the Contenders List.

How does the voting process work?

An online survey is distributed to all contracted NRL players two weeks prior to conclusion of the regular season. Players are asked to nominate in a 3/2/1 point system (3 being allocated to the player they believe has performed the best) their choice for the best performers in that season from the Contenders List (opposition players only). Players also enter one vote for RLPA Rookie of the Year. This revised voting process was implemented in 2018.

What is the Contenders List?

To streamline the voting process, four players from each club are nominated to be eligible for The Players’ Champion. This process takes place prior to the voting period, with RLPA Delegates and Player Leaders at each Club asked to put forward the three best players from their own team. An RLPA Working Group nominates a fourth player to round out the nomination process. In total, 64 players (four from each team) are eligible to receive votes in the end of season poll.

What happens in the event of a tie?

Where players finish on the same amount of points through the voting system, the player who received the most three (3) point nominations will be awarded the honour. Should both players finish on the same amount of three (3) point nominations, joint winners will be announced.

Are players penalised for suspensions/fines handed down by the NRL?

No. Players receive no penalty for suspension or fines.

How does the process for The Players’ Champion (NRLW) work?

The voting process for The Players’ Champion (NRLW) mirrors the process for the NRL award, albeit with slight adjustments due to the shorter season. No Contenders List is formed for NRLW, with every player to have played an NRLW match in that season eligible to receive votes from all contracted NRLW players. The votes are collected at the conclusion of the regular season via an online survey.

How is the Players’ 13 Dream Team determined?

NRL Players who receive the most votes from the survey in each position form The Players’ 13 Dream Team. Players must be named to start in that position for 25% or more of their games to be eligible for that particular position.

Who is eligible for the RLPA Rookie of the Year?

Players who have played less than three (3) NRL matches prior to the start of a new season are eligible for the RLPA Rookie of the Year award.  Once a player appears in three (3) or more matches, he becomes ineligible for the RLPA Rookie of the Year in subsequent seasons.

Players enter one (1) vote as part of The Players’ Champion voting process and are unable to vote for a Club teammate.

How is the Dennis Tutty award decided?

The RLPA Board of Directors determine the winner of the Dennis Tutty award each year based on the following criteria.

The Dennis Tutty Award will be awarded annually to a current Rugby League Player who has demonstrated outstanding:

  1. Leadership on and off the field;
  2. Commitment to his fellow Players and to the advancement and protection of their rights; and
  3. Service and dedication to the game of Rugby League

Nominations for the Dennis Tutty Award can be received from the membership and from RLPA management, with the final determination made by the RLPA Board.