Competition Media Releases News

Campbell-Gillard called up for Kangaroos

Penrith Panthers forward Reagan Campbell-Gillard has been called into the Kangaroos squad following the withdrawal today of Andrew Fifita.

Fifita informed Kangaroos Coach Mal Meninga today of his desire to represent Tonga at the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

“Andrew called me and said he was passionate about playing for Tonga and I respect and support that decision,” Meninga said.

“It is obviously a significant boost for Tonga as well as the World Cup – and international Rugby League in general.

“At the same time it is also a great opportunity for someone like Reagan, who has been outstanding for the Panthers.

“I’m extremely excited about seeing Reagan in a Kangaroos jersey.”

The updated squad, listed alphabetically, is as follows:

Player NRL Club Junior Club
Darius Boyd Brisbane Broncos Mudgeeraba Redbacks
Reagan Campbell-Gillard Penrith Panthers Windsor Wolves
Will Chambers Melbourne Storm Nhulunbuy, NT
Boyd Cordner (vc) Sydney Roosters Old Bar Pirates
Cooper Cronk Melbourne Storm Souths Acacia
Josh Dugan St George Illawarra Dragons South Tuggeranong Knights/Valley Dragons
Tyson Frizell St George Illawarra Dragons Corrimal Cougars
Dane Gagai Newcastle Knights Souths Sharks
Matt Gillett Brisbane Broncos Bribie Island Warrigals
Wade Graham Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks Blacktown City
Valentine Holmes Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks Western Lions/Townsville
Ben Hunt Brisbane Broncos Blackwater Crushers
Felise Kaufusi Melbourne Storm Bundaberg Brothers
David Klemmer Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs All Saints Toongabbie
Josh McGuire Brisbane Broncos Aspley
James Maloney Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks St Edwards, Gosford
Jordan McLean Melbourne Storm Young Cherrypickers
Michael Morgan North Queensland Cowboys Townsville Brothers
Cameron Munster Melbourne Storm Norths Knights
Billy Slater Melbourne Storm Innisfail
Cameron Smith (c) Melbourne Storm Logan Brothers
Jake Trbojevic Manly Warringah Sea Eagles Mona Vale Raiders
Tom Trbojevic Manly Warringah Sea Eagles Mona Vale Raiders
Aaron Woods Wests Tigers Leichhardt Juniors